ABP is structured to ensure the democratic representation of all producers, to encourage direct feedback from the grassroots, and to ensure that the organization is consistently revitalized with fresh ideas and representatives. Provincial legislation outlines the ABP’s basic structure, objectives and powers and provides for a check-off on all cattle marketed in order to finance its activities.


All cattle producers in Alberta who have paid a check-off in the previous 24 months are considered members and are eligible to vote.


  • The province is divided into nine zones and producers in each zone elect five zone delegates.
  • Three delegates and then two delegates are elected in each zone in alternate years.
  • Each zone elects one cattle feeder council delegate and up to four cattle feeder council delegate at large may be elected by producers at the AGM.
  • Up to ten eligible producers can be elected as association delegates, five each year for a two year term. They have the same obligations and privileges as a zone delegate except they cannot serve as zone director.
  • All delegates are elected for a two-year period. Producers can serve for five consecutive two-year terms before they must step aside and allow other interested cattle producers to become involved.
  • The zone delegates annually elect one of their group to be zone director and to sit on the ABP board. In addition to the nine zone directors, there are four directors-at-large elected from the delegate body at the AGM and the three councils each elect a director.
  • The ABP past chairman also sits on the ABP board for the first year after their term expires. The full board of directors then elect a chairman, vice-chairman and finance chairman. Should a zone director be elected as chairman, another delegate from that zone becomes the zone director.
  • The board of directors plus zone delegates form the official voting body at the Annual General Meeting. This voting body sets policy, directions and approves budgets for the organization.
  • Delegates are appointed or elected to serve on any of the committees or councils: Communications, Promotions, Environment, Research, Animal Health & Welfare, Governance, Audit, Cow Calf, Cattle Feeder, and Cattle Industry. (Link to Become a Delegate page).
  • Interested in becoming a delegate? Click here